Meanwhile Back at the Ranch

So far work on the “farm” has been limited to weekends, but we still have a house, chickens, cats and a garden to tend to when we are home.  M works and commutes about 12 -15 hours a day during the week and I try to keep everything on the homefront running.

We have a punch list for the house about a mile long so we can get this house ready to put on the market.  Until this house is sold, M needs to stay at his job.  It’s a catch-22 as he is the one with the mad carpentry and electrical skills, but he has very little time to get anything done.  He’s going to teach me to use some of his power tools, which I know he is reluctant to do as I am a bit of a klutz.  He’s afraid I’m going to chop off my hand.   He has good reason, I’ve sliced off a few fingertips before and have had 12 stitches in one of my fingers from kitchen knives – and I consider cooking one of my major skills.

We need to install baseboard throughout, trim windows, finishing switching out the hollow core doors, finish trimming the kitchen out, tile the front entry paint throughout and maybe remodel the other bathroom.  We also need to run electrical to the wood/tool shed and wire it up for power and lights.  There’s work on the exterior of the house as well – replace rotting wood, sand and paint the railings, paint the doors and trim, etc…

We have a fairly large vegetable garden that feeds us and I am behind on getting it going this year.  I did manage to sow over 100 plants beofre we left for the weekend and about a third were sprouting when we came back Sunday night.  I picked up our seed potatoes and will get them started chitting later today.  I planted garlic last fall, so we may not be in such bad shape after all.  I still need to direct sow my peas, cabbages, kale, carrots, etc… as soon as there is a break in the rain.  The compost piles need turning and there’s the work to be done on the coop.  I also need to clear another area to prep it for chicken pasture – we need more room for rotating their pen.  and the list just grows and grows – unlike my garden right now!

And here I am publishing yet another post without pics.  tsk tsk.  I need to me some of those mad camera skills.

About La Femme Farmer

Starting up a small farm is the goal for the second half of my life. It's a late start I know, but better late than NEVER! Growing food, cooking and eating are my passions and now I get to do it full-time (and then some). and yes, that's a tomato from my garden!
This entry was posted in Chickens, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meanwhile Back at the Ranch

  1. My best wishes with your farm. Your updates are interesting.

Leave a Reply

