Camemblerg!

I checked on my camembert cheeses the other day – it was about 4 days before they were supposed to be ready to eat – and they looked a little melty and wet.  I unwrapped one and it was oozing liquid.  It didn’t smell foul, but it didn’t smell right.  The rind was splitting open and it was just too wet.  I cut it open and it had a very creamy but runny layer with a firm inside.  I took a taste and it was bitter. Waaaaahhhh!

I later read that this happens if they ripen too quickly.  As it turned out, my cheese cave was about 10 degrees warmer than it should have been for the camembert which made it ripen prematurely.  DRATS!  Five wheels of cheese into the compost.  But I am not completely discouraged.  Despite the bitterness and excessive moisture, it had the potential to be a really good cheese.  Good thing I have a couple of gallons of goat milk in the freezer.

About La Femme Farmer

Starting up a small farm is the goal for the second half of my life. It's a late start I know, but better late than NEVER! Growing food, cooking and eating are my passions and now I get to do it full-time (and then some). and yes, that's a tomato from my garden!
This entry was posted in Cheese, Homesteading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Camemblerg!

  1. To bad about the cheese. Hope the next batch turns out for you. I have a question , I have always been told not to put dairy or protein in the compost pile. Is it OK to put the dairy on the compost? I do guess that the enzymes in the cheese would actually speed the composting process.

    • I think the reason they say not to put meat and other proteins in the compost is to keep rats and other critters out. We have huge compost piles and I bury the proteins deep and turn often.

      • OK that make sense ,, thank you I have a pretty good size pile my self …will have to start putting the sour milf and moldy cheese pieces I cut off in there. I always bury my new items deep in the pile and turn every other day.

Leave a Reply

