Cider Apocalypse

Don’t try this at home. Seriously.

After reading an excellent blog on pasteurizing cider in a bottle I decided to give it a try. My cider is over-carbonated, it had fermented in the bottle for a full two weeks.  As an experiment I thought I could risk it. I donned my welder’s jacket and gloves, a face shield and even wore shoes inside (a big no-no in our house). I used L’s big stock pot and gingerly placed bottles inside and quickly got the lid on. After a few minutes, I thought it might work. Then the first two explosions startled us. I had expected two of the bottles to go, but held out hope that the stouter ones could take it. POP! FIZZ! It knocked the lid off and foamy cider hit the range hood.

BLAM-O! KABLOOEY!
I had now clearly signed up for post-Thanksgiving stove clean up.

Precautions are wise when pasteurizing.

When the Cider Apocalypse was done one bottle had completely shattered, the others had popped their tops but to my surprise one bottle remained. I suited up and gingerly took it outside. Cider grenades are dangerous.

Cider carnage. Smells good though.

Yes I will try this again, but only after a week of secondary fermentation. Thank goodness for that tough stock pot.

Last brew standing

Back to cleaning the stove…

About M. Agriculteur

Designer, motorcycle junkie, traveler, wanna-be iron butter (more butt than iron), builder, foodie, farmer wanna-be.
This entry was posted in Cider, Homesteading, Sustainability and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cider Apocalypse

  1. oh my gosh, this picture is hilarious – the gourmet standard stove, the wonderful stainless steel cookware – and a welding mask and jacket. Awesome. Cleaning sticky cider off the stove cannot have been fun…

Leave a Reply

