Sensible Shoes

Since working on our farm on the weekends I discovered I was noticing people’s shoes. I first noticed myself noticing one cold morning on my commute when a pretty woman flounced (that bouncing fluttering gait) by wearing a miniskirt and stiletto heels. My first thought, I swear, was that she never walks on grass or in the woods.

I saw coworkers in tennis shoes and fancy suede shoes walking the halls at work in the grip of our wet winters.

I have friends who never breathe the air outside. They breathe house air, car air, garage air, and office air. They almost never touch living soil either. Everything around us is paved and sterile. Great strips of concrete divide and cover the world illustrating our desire to control nature and create a less complex world.

I like dirt and mud, grass and trees. I adore getting things done outside regardless of the weather. It always feels so direct. I can point to that stack of logs, that field. I am fascinated by the diversity of a square foot of sod. I find myself cheering for life, for the mess of it all.

Now and again I’ll be walking to work and spot a few blades of grass poking out of the sidewalk, and as I pass wearing my sensible shoes, I urge it on. Go little weed, go claim your place in the world and push the concrete aside.

About M. Agriculteur

Designer, motorcycle junkie, traveler, wanna-be iron butter (more butt than iron), builder, foodie, farmer wanna-be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sensible Shoes

  1. Ha. I notice shoes too, but I think of it more as an age thing, as in “she’s going to get bad ankles from those shoes” – this could not possibly be jealousy of someone with better balance and coordination than myself, of course.

    • I gave up high heeled boots about 5 years ago – I used to run 12 blocks downtown Seattle to get to the ferry in those things. If I try to wear them now for an evening out on the town, I can barely walk in them! and just like a reformed smoker I find myself being quite critical of those in anything but sensible shoes.

Leave a Reply

