The Farm in Bloom

We found a couple of trilliums up near the fruit trees and the wannabe pond.  They bloom white and then turn this rosy purple color when the bloom starts to fade.

WP_20130420_002

The nectarine tree is the first of the fruit trees to bloom.nectarine

Bleeding Hearts grow wild all over the property.Wild Bleeding Hearts

The daffodils are blooming like crazy.  I thought 720 bulbs would be a HUGE mass, but guess in a large space that’s just a drop in the bucket.  It’s still beautiful and once they start to naturalize it will become more and more spectacular each year.daffodils

Although not in bloom, the little pond M created to pump water into the cistern is starting to harbor life.  Little frogs are taking up residence.  I couldn’t get a shot of them, but in my attempt I ended up with this photo instead.pond

About La Femme Farmer

Starting up a small farm is the goal for the second half of my life. It's a late start I know, but better late than NEVER! Growing food, cooking and eating are my passions and now I get to do it full-time (and then some). and yes, that's a tomato from my garden!
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

