Ham and Bacon – Smoke ‘Em If Ya Got ‘Em

It is that time of year again where we find ourselves elbow deep in porky goodness.

This year we have half a Tamworth hog, and so far the chops and sausage have been delectable. As usual we asked for the offal and we always get interesting reactions to the request. Often we get everyone’s livers, hearts and kidneys. One pork liver goes a long, long way. After making tons of pate’ we still end up feeding some to the dog and the extra protein is good for the chickens this time of year. Next year I’ll try making liver sausages… but that’s a discussion for another time.

The big effort this year has been sausage, bacon, guanciale, and ham. Iterating on our notes in the Charcuterie book, we made breakfast sausage with maple syrup, bangers, and chorizo. We made guanciale, which is still in the fridge salting, and fresh bacon. From the River Cottage Meat Book we made ham brine with cider and spices.

Both ham and bacon benefit from smoking but the method is different. Bacon needs a warmer smoke, not hot, but enough to get the meat temp to around 150° Fahrenheit. I have an old school charcoal smoker so this requires some skill. I am still honing those skills. 😉 The first batch took about four hours, and the next involved binge watching Netflix in 30 minute intervals into the wee hours of the morning. I finally figured out that adding charcoal around the edges an slowly pushing the hot coals toward the center of the grill which was heaped with damp apple wood pruning maintained the heat and the smoke well.

I fried off samples in the morning. Man that stuff is good!

Ham
The brine smells so delicious and after soaking in it for two and a half weeks its cidery, spicy tang still made my mouth water. Like all pre-smoking recipes this one called for letting it dry until a tacky “pelicule’ developed. This lets the smoke stick.

So out of the brine they come for a quick rinse in cold water…

and then we wrapped them in cheese cloth and hung them outside overnight… and this is why we harvest pigs in the late fall. Less feed cost and nature’s help with refrigeration.

Ham likes to be cold smoked in my opinion. Sitting in a smoker for 24 hours lets the smoke penetrate deep into the muscle. Given my aforementioned drama with the bacon this called for some mechanical assistance. I like simple no-moving-parts, no-special-fuel sorts of solutions. I hate the idea of those single serve coffee machines that come in individual plastic espresso pod thingies. Waste and being beholden to the maker’s whim for making the pods forever, and heaven forbid you don’t like the coffee they offer. (I just realized I am ranting… back to the smoker stuff.)

So I picked up an A-maze-n smoker. It burns pellets or sawdust, and I can experiment with my alder and apple. Lit with a propane torch, it merrily smokes for hours. I’ll try this with cheese and liver sausage soon too.

… and LeFemme is going to get tired of me giggling about the house each time I check to see that it is still smoking.

About M. Agriculteur

Designer, motorcycle junkie, traveler, wanna-be iron butter (more butt than iron), builder, foodie, farmer wanna-be.
This entry was posted in Charcuterie, Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ham and Bacon – Smoke ‘Em If Ya Got ‘Em

  1. Oh my that looks delicious. I gave hubby a copy of “Charcuturie” for Christmas – we were in danger of getting brine on the library copy we kept re-borrowing. Even with the digital aspect of hubby’s swanky gizmo smoker, timing remains an area that needs improvement – he has had to stay up late more than once to finish out a batch of something or other. I love the word ‘pelicule’ – it sounds like what it is.

    • Thanks. He has a new book out on Salami, I am saving up to get it soon.
      Pelicule is one of those words like “fork” and “pudding” that if you say it several times in a row it seems to lose its meaning but is so fun to say. Reminds me of my daughter when she was little saying “leather,leather,leather,leather,leather” in the back seat of the car.

  2. farmerkhaiti says:

    I’d also recommend the original River Cottage book, he has some beautiful charcuterie recipes in there as well. Rock on! Sailorssmallfarm led me here!

  3. Yep, we have that too. I watched and re watched their video “Pig in a Day” when we did the butchery on our first half hog. Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

