Truck Unloader-ator

We picked up a new gadget at Harbor Freight the other day after a neighbor mentioned it. For the price, we figured it was worth a shot.

Worked great for chips, a little less so with our long canary grass which tended to wrap around the roll as it came off.  Logs need to be pulled away from the wheel well indents so they don’t hang up on the wheel wells. I am pretty confident it will work just as easily with gravel. We are keeping our fingers crossed for dairy cow poo which is a smelly, hour long and back breaking chore to get out of the truck bed. The hour long part might be made easier… smelly is just the price of high quality nutrient in our compost piles.

I’ll update this post with the poo video after the weekend, but I recommend you finish your lunch before watching. 🙂

About La Femme Farmer

Starting up a small farm is the goal for the second half of my life. It's a late start I know, but better late than NEVER! Growing food, cooking and eating are my passions and now I get to do it full-time (and then some). and yes, that's a tomato from my garden!
This entry was posted in Tools and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Truck Unloader-ator

  1. OK, that is pretty darn cool. Is it heavy to crank? I’m thinking about the gravel or the damp manure.
    So does it just stay rolled on the tailgate till you need it again? Or do you pull it back up the bed ready for the next load? I was thinking stuff would get underneath it and get rolled into the roll, but maybe it doesn’t really matter. Beats shoveling, that’s for sure!

  2. Not at all – the video looks like I’m struggling a bit, but that’s just because the crank is long and my arms are short! If there’s tension, that just means something is hung up. I won’t be trying it on manure for a couple of weeks due to scheduling conflicts with the dairy farmer, but I used it on a load of split green logs and it wasn’t hard at all.
    It clamps onto the tail gate and is easy to just slide on and off for storage. So far nothing has wrapped itself into the roll. Wet manure is going to be interesting though…
    Yes – it sure does beat shoveling! For the 3 loads I’ve used it on I feel the ROI on the $45 is pretty good!

  3. I looked it up in Canada, and it’s $149 here!!! Good thing I never bought that red truck, so don’t need to feel envious or anything.

  4. Bill says:

    That is very cool! I’ve often wished I had a dump bed on my truck, and I’ve shoveled out plenty of loads of mulch, leaves, etc. Definitely going to look into this.

  5. Very kewl, We are definitely going to have to have one of these!

  6. An update to anyone who happens to re-read this post – I tried it with the wet manure and it was just too heavy. Once I hand shoveled out at least half of it, it worked like a charm. Since I’m picking this up enroute to the farm each weekend, it behooves me to get as much as the truck can carry – which is about 3 large tractor buckets (we have an 8′ bed and the loader bucket just fits coming in from the side of the truck.)
    The unloaderator cleaned up rather well – would definitely be easier if we had any water pressure at the farm – but a hose hooked up to the cistern and a little elbow grease got it pretty clean.

Leave a Reply

