Damn Backseat Driver…

 

Anyone remember the pushmi-pullyu from Dr. Dolittle?

tumblr_m8r77giXtu1ruqt0eo1_500

Kind of how I felt this last weekend trenching for the well line.

WP_20140830_009

M thought it would go a lot faster if I moved the tractor forward when he was finished digging a section with the backhoe, but I’d have about 20 – 30 seconds of work and then wait what felt like 10 -15 minutes (M says it was only 3 – 5 minutes) while he dug the next increment.  It did not feel like the most productive use of my time, so M just switched back and forth on his own.  It was definitely slower, but then I was able to chip piles of branches and fill the cargo trailer with more compost and mulch material.

WP_20140830_003

Starting at the well. Only 597 more feet to go… You can see the barn in the background – that’s where he’s headed.

WP_20140901_001

By the end of the weekend M trenched about 175 feet. He’s almost to the end of the swale and then he will start to head down the hill towards the barn.

WP_20140901_002

He didn’t spend the whole weekend trenching as there were plenty of other tasks to be undertaken like greasing the backhoe, and then running around the countryside trying to find a zerk to replace the one that popped out in the process.  Oops.

WP_20140831_006

M is getting pretty good with that backhoe. I’m hoping now he will use it to scoop cow manure out of the back of the truck so I don’t have to pitch fork it out anymore!

About La Femme Farmer

Starting up a small farm is the goal for the second half of my life. It's a late start I know, but better late than NEVER! Growing food, cooking and eating are my passions and now I get to do it full-time (and then some). and yes, that's a tomato from my garden!
This entry was posted in Farm Machines, Homesteading, Preparing the land, Water Management. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Damn Backseat Driver…

  1. DM says:

    nice ditch! Great place to practice 🙂 That is a LONG ways across to the barn. I remember when I was first learning how to use a skid loader…there were only 5 controls to keep straight. Started scraping off a concrete floor with pig manure ( the pigs were still on the floor) Lifted my bucket over the fence, then the darn thing started to bounce…I panicked, instinctively pulled back on the two handles, which controlled the backward and forward motion…only problem was, my bucket was on the other side of the fence and lower than the top of it…next thing I knew, I had a 12 foot section of fence pulled over, and pigs wanting to escape. Looks a little rainy there right now by the photo?

    • Thanks DM,
      Not raining at the moment, its a breezy 90 degrees. Skid steers are powerful and bouncy. I nearly tipped one over (early learning) attempting to push over a rotten snag. It wasn’t THAT rotten.

Leave a Reply

