Taking Stock of the Nursery

I’ve been growing more trees, shrubs and vines for the farm here at home from seed (saved and purchased) and some from cuttings of plants I already have. From seed – true comfrey, sea buckthorn, Szechuan pepper, paulownia, osage orange, black locust, copper sedge. From cuttings – white concord grape, golden hops, golden raspberry, rosemary, bay, hardy fuschia, lemon geranium, hydrangeas. Plus I dig up the alder, hemlock and cedar seedlings I find in my home garden and hold them in a raised bed until I can plant them out at the farm.

True Comfrey grown from seed. Some are flowering so I'll be able to save my own seed this year.

True Comfrey grown from seed. Some are flowering so I’ll be able to save my own seed this year. I’ve been feeding the chickens armloads of this stuff all summer.

Purchased Weeping Mulberry and Fig with lots of Black Locust grown from saved seed. I have 48 seedlings out of 60 seeds sown earlier this past spring

Purchased Weeping Mulberry and Fig with lots of Black Locust grown from saved seed. I have 48 seedlings out of 60 seeds sown earlier this past spring

More Black Locust

More Black Locust

I also have some fig and mulberry trees I purchased from a local nursery using my customer appreciation punch card, so they were “practically free”.  I earned a bunch of points and then spent them during their big 40% off fall sale.  Trying to stretch that dollar every chance I get.

More purchased figs.

More purchased figs.

WP_20140804_003

Szechuan Pepper with Osage Orange in the background – both grown from seed

More Osage Orange

osage orange

The plan is to plant my stock out this fall.  What I didn’t factor in was how ding dang big and fast everything would grow! The $64,000 question is how the hell am I going to get those trees transported without destroying them? They are 6 and 7 feet tall and seem to be growing by the hour.  It’s a 2.5 hour drive in a pickup truck.

Paulownia aka Empress Tree. These are fast growing, coppicable and wonderful mulch makers in addition to being a beautiful shade tree with lovely flowers.

Paulownia aka Empress Tree. These are fast growing, coppicable and wonderful mulch makers in addition to being a beautiful shade tree with lovely flowers. I grew these from seed last spring. They died to the ground over winter and came back with a vengeance! I thought I was going to have another year of die back but the trunks are pretty substantial.

These trees are only a little over a year old - look at the size of those leaves!! They will only get bigger as the tree matures.  See what I mean about being excellent mulch makers?

These trees are only a little over a year old – look at the size of those leaves!! They will only get bigger as the tree matures. See what I mean about being excellent mulch makers?

My yard and deck feel like a jungle but I know as soon as we get everything transported to the farm, it will only be a drop in the proverbial bucket.  This will be a whole lot easier when I have a greenhouse, nursery beds and easy-to-access water for getting plants established directly on site.  Just another layer of complication when you are split between two locations.

About La Femme Farmer

Starting up a small farm is the goal for the second half of my life. It's a late start I know, but better late than NEVER! Growing food, cooking and eating are my passions and now I get to do it full-time (and then some). and yes, that's a tomato from my garden!
This entry was posted in Gardening, Mulch, Permaculture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taking Stock of the Nursery

  1. DM says:

    know anyone with a large pull behind trailer, or how about renting a small U-haul truck for the day? I was thinking this past weekend about the two of you and the way you have done such an amazing job, with planning and follow through. Hat’s off to you both. I owe a blogging friend a trip west…(she’s the one who we came to see last time we were on the West coast in Tacoma.) Not sure when we’ll have the finances together to make such a trip, but seeing your new set up is on my list of “must see” when things work out. DM

    • Thanks DM – we appreciate the vote of confidence – especially coming from you! And would we truly love to have you visit next time you head west. As a matter of fact, Tacoma is the halfway point between our home and the farm.
      We have a military cargo trailer with a tarp so I was thinking we could somehow support the pots at an angle (they’ll be dropping their leaves soon and there are no real branches yet – just trunk) to keep them from rolling around, but if that doesn’t pan out then I think we will need to rent a truck. As always – thanks for stopping by the blog. I enjoy our virtual visits!

  2. Bill says:

    Very wise of you to plan ahead, starting the trees where you are. I know logistics are a pain now, but just think of all those wonderful trees growing on your place.

    I love that you’re including mulberries. I wish we had mulberry trees here. They were common when I was a boy but fell out of favor because of the “mess” they make. I planted one when were were restoring the place but it didn’t make it. I haven’t had any success with figs yet either, but I keep trying.

    I’m looking forward to seeing the photos of all those trees planted and flourishing on your farm.

    • At least the deer aren’t munching away at the trees here…
      We are specifically growing mulberries for our chickens as they are a great source of protein – and the girls will keep up with the “mess”. The figs I’ve chosen are all locally adapted varieties but I think they will still need a little babying until they are established. They do well around here if grown on the south side of a building.
      Thanks for stopping by Bill – your encouragement is very much appreciated.

  3. I was thinking you should rent a truck for those trees – forgot about your trailer. Do you know already where you’re going to plant them out on the property?

  4. Pretty much but like everything else, once you get them out there it will be a whole new ball game. Everything looks different on paper.

Leave a Reply

