Pickled Eggs and Deer Mulch

Daylight. Sweet, sweet daylight. My mornings start pretty early and by the time I am ready to catch the bus to work at 5:00 AM the sky is just turning purple and maroon. I feel a physical relief with that little bit of light in the morning now. On the rare morning when I have time to get a run in at home (cardio and core my friends… I really believe that this has made a huge difference in my farm work) I get to see the sun actually rise. 40 minutes to spare is a real luxury and with the light it really changes my outlook.

IMG_0559

My running buddy wondering why I stopped

The hens must feel the same as we are rolling in eggs! L. has been making frittatas and quiche, and our all-time favorite, wilted kale, polenta, bacon and two poached eggs. But my little joy this time of year is pickling our surplus eggs. This is a Southern thing I think, but spicy pickled eggs are a real treat. They really hit the spot especially with a little beer.

I did make the mistake of bringing in some to work for a co-worker to try. Not only did I not screw the lid on tight enough and spill pickled egg juice liberally in my bag but when I put the jar on my desk I got a lot of interesting reactions. 🙂

IMG_0578

L. will post the recipe later – she is en route to the farm now and picking up pallet shelving to help us organize the barn. She’s also submitting paperwork for septic designs and water permits. More on that in another post.

Here is the “proper” way to eat pickled eggs.
HowtoEatPickledEggs

In other news, we have caged most of the trees and got a bunch of raspberry plants in the ground. When we showed up last weekend we discovered how much deer love young raspberry plants. Munched to the ground. Boo. Since we have a lot of sheet metal siding scrap left over from barn construction and it needs to move anyway in preparation for more construction we decided to “mulch” the raspberries with it almost 3ft out from the plants. Our hope is that when the deer come for a snack and step on it the “clonk-clonking” will deter them. We’ll see.

  
Tree cages seem to be holding up well. L. found a freecycle listing for rebar and grabbed it all. These worked pretty well for supports.

FullSizeRender

You can see some scraps of cardboard from our mulch scattered about. Some critter (not the dog) is having a good time digging into it and flinging it about. This seems to have relented in the last few weeks though.

About M. Agriculteur

Designer, motorcycle junkie, traveler, wanna-be iron butter (more butt than iron), builder, foodie, farmer wanna-be.
This entry was posted in Crops, Farming, Gardening, Mulch, Tree Care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pickled Eggs and Deer Mulch

  1. Masha Zager says:

    Waiting for the pickled eggs recipe! My husband is eager to try this. (We also have an abundance of eggs right now.) How long do they last?

    • I’ll make sure L adds that. First, let your eggs sit a week or so… they are easier to peel when they aren’t fresh. Second, they don’t last long… insomuch as we eat them after they have been pickling for a week. I suspect they last a longish time if you can resist the temptation. Like refrigerator pickles. L will have details.

    • It’s a pretty simple recipe. At least a dozen or so eggs will fit inside a half gallon mason jar. I set aside a couple of cartons of freshly laid eggs for at least 2-3 weeks so they are easier to peel. I also steam them instead of boiling them. Rumor has it that you can steam fresher eggs and they are easier to peel, but I have not had consistent results so I use the “belt and suspenders” approach. I use a steamer basket and steam about 18-20 minutes then plunge them in an ice bath.
      For the brine just heat 2 cups vinegar, 1/2 cup water, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 teaspoon salt until the sugar and salt dissolve – maybe 15 minutes or so. You don’t want to boil it. Let it cool so you don’t cook your eggs more. Peel the eggs and place in jar with pickled jalapeños and/or those little yellow chili peppers along with about 3 teaspoons (or more) red pepper flakes. Pour brine over the eggs and refrigerate for at least 2 – 3 weeks. Patience will reward you with more flavorful eggs. I’ve used fresh peppers before – you’d put them in the brine while heating it, but the already pickled ones are easier. I usually pour the brine from the pickled peppers in the mix as well.
      I’ve read you can keep them in the fridge 3 – 4 months but as M said – we have never been able to test that limit!

  2. DM says:

    I did not know deer would also eat a raspberry plant. You just may have something w/ that metal “mulch” concept.

  3. I don’t know about pickled eggs being Southern…they are classic pub food in the UK, and the Maritimes of Canada, where most people hale from Irish or Scottish stock. Hubby is a Newfie, and therefore 50/50 Scots/Irish, and definitely has an affinity for a good pickled egg (and beer). I have never been very successful at making the kind we like, so look forward to L’s recipe, in hopes that it works better than the ones I’ve tried. And yes, dripping a bit of the juice on it is definitely good, but difficult in a pub.

    • I posted my “recipe” above. I went through several before I boiled it down to this one. Most recipes called for pickling spices or cloves or too much sugar. I had a taste memory I was trying to recapture from my “pub crawling” adventures and this seems to be the ticket.

  4. Bill says:

    You’ve sure got a beautiful place to go for a run.
    We’ve been coming up with ways to preserve the spring surplus of eggs, but I hadn’t thought of pickling them. I’m going to keep an eye out for the recipe. I notice the jalapeno slices in the jar. Looks like my kind of snack!

  5. Pingback: Planting Out the Cistern Garden | Le Petit Canard Farm

  6. Pingback: Planting Out the Cistern Garden | Le Petit Canard Farm

Leave a Reply

