Ta Da!


I just finished refinishing and recovering my ottoman – yippee!  Ok, so not really farm related, but I was just so pleased I had to show someone (besides Harlie – obviously she likes it).

I purchased the fabric last January and just now got around to tackling it. The ottoman was in pretty bad shape back when I took this pic – imagine how bad it got by the time I got around to recovering it. I was getting pretty close to duct taping it – not something I really want to admit to, but in my defense there are some pretty fun rolls of “duck tape” available these days. I could have gotten creative.

“You looking at me??? I didn’t do it – you should talk to the dog.

I pulled fifty million staples out, sanded, primed and gave the legs four coats of paint (Magpie had chewed them up when she was a puppy), then reupholstered with the new fabric. The foam and webbing were in great shape so I was able to skip those steps.

Good thing I had help or I might never have finished it.

According to Harlie, the webbing and foam are still pretty sturdy

Looks done to me

 

About La Femme Farmer

Starting up a small farm is the goal for the second half of my life. It's a late start I know, but better late than NEVER! Growing food, cooking and eating are my passions and now I get to do it full-time (and then some). and yes, that's a tomato from my garden!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ta Da!

  1. DM says:

    I’ve never reupholstered anything before. It kind of intimidates me. 🙂

    • I’ve never built a table before!
      Actually, ottomans are pretty easy. You could easily take one apart and redo without any help. This one was tricky because the legs aren’t removable – they were part of the frame, so I had to get creative on the ends. I’ve reupholstered a loveseat and a large living room chair years ago but that was while I was taking an upholstery class at the Y. 😏

  2. Looks awesome, and I love the fabric you chose! Apparently only one of the cats approves, however :). Staple gun or tacks?

    • Thanks SSF – actually I think I was inspired by your dining room chair upholstery project to go out and purchase fabric. It just took me another 7 months to get around to doing anything with it.
      Although I learned to upholster with tacks – I ended up using M’s electric staple gun.
      Siena is not fond of change – it will take her a couple of months of thinking about the new ottoman before she dares step foot on it.

  3. Bill says:

    I’m with DM. I wouldn’t know how to even begin. Great job.

Leave a Reply

