Good guys

On the long uphill climb of backfilling our power ditch and the subsequent unfilling after I remembered we still needed to run a phone line (someday I will dig a ditch only once) I pondered and was visited by a bunch of good guys. 

We’ve got garter snakes, salamanders, and frogs. There are two pair of swallows in residence in the shed of the barn. These guys are all pretty entertaining but I’ve always had a soft spot for swallows. Swooping and eating and their little V tails wobbling to balance their aerobatics. Goldfinches which seem to sag mid flight with crops full of weed seed and bugs.

Bats silhouetted against the clear night sky seem to flutter and fall, twist and get their little jets started again when they catch moths and termites.

Bald faced hornets, wasps, and yellow jackets are cleaning up the bad guys too. We tolerate them as much as possible. Don’t attempt to dislodge a nest while wearing flip-flops (zoris, thongs, jandals)

Even the pair of red tailed hawks and our local pack of coyotes do their part keeping the rodent population in check. While I’ll have to take extra measures to protect future poultry flocks I am happy for the help for now.

This weekend a little guy flew to my backhoe. I stopped work to walk up and show L with him climbing through the endless tunnel of my hands as I moved one over another in succession.

 

And this little tough guy, the Northern Aligator Lizard. They eat lots of bad guys even baby mice! At 6 inches long he has quite an attitude.

   

It’s nice to have helpers on the farm. Now if I could only get some help with this ditch.

About M. Agriculteur

Designer, motorcycle junkie, traveler, wanna-be iron butter (more butt than iron), builder, foodie, farmer wanna-be.
This entry was posted in Farming, Gardening, Homesteading, Permaculture, Sustainability. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good guys

  1. DM says:

    that is a big lizard! If I lived closer, I would love to help you out.

    • You know how much I would enjoy that… And someone to warn me that 2″ conduit laid straight in a ditch to keep it a foot away from the phone line will look like a snake by midday in 90 degree heat is worth a LOT of bacon!

  2. Bill says:

    Our cat helps out too. He was waiting at the door yesterday morning with a large mouse in his mouth. If only we could get him to stick to taking out the bad guys, and leave the birds alone.

  3. I love watching barn swallows – they are the most amazing bug catchers, but I wish they didn’t always choose to build their nests right under the hot tin roof of the barn.. I’ve never seen the little green insect before – at least, I may have without realizing it, I suppose, We have lizards too – I’m thankful to say I haven’t seen any that are as big as six inches – yet. They do seem to be slightly bigger and more numerous every year. Sympathies about double ditching – been there, and likely will be again.

Leave a Reply

