Fencing 

Sometimes it is better to hire out some projects to get forward motion. Trading dollars for time is something I always have trouble with. I could do this!  L is always pointing out, while I am not doing this something else is getting done. As the saying goes, get it done cheap, fast, or well. Pick two.

L was laid up with sciatica from lifting fence posts while treating them with our natural wood preservative so I came down solo. We had a little snow which turned the two hour trip into four and I showed up just before dusk. Folks who live here seem to lose their minds when there are a few flakes on the ground.

When I got to the farm I dutifully consulted my list of tasks and finished coating the remaining posts. Next on the list was oil changes for the tractor and truck. I started with the truck since it was still warm. Using a headlamp and doing this when of you are knackered is a bad idea. I drained the transmission fluid by accident. When I realized my mistake I broke into a cold sweat. Luckily I was using a new drain pan and with a little creativity managed to refill the tranny.

Project done I hit the sack after 11.

The next morning our fence crew showed up bright and early and we staked the boundary together. I picked the best looking posts for high traffic areas and brought them out from the barn.

The post pattern took some creative spacing to work out the correct order. I started learning some Spanish along the way. Chico, grande, chico, grande… Short, tall, short, tall…


 

This line will be the most prominent. There is also a tractor sized gate on the back side of the fence out of sight.

Juan is the boss in the front center, Juan two is on the far left, Filemon is second from the left and Chimo is the new guy on the right.

In Mexico the tradition is to make tamales for Christmas. Lunch was warm and delicious.

All the while I kept L up to date with goings on and she kept things moving from afar.

I didn’t kiss Juan per my instructions, but I managed to bring home a big bag of tamales for L.

Day two the gravel was delivered for the area between the barn and the proposed home site recently backfilled after the septic installation. Most of the gravel had to be spread by hand as the dirt was too saturated from the deluge of rain we’ve been having and the tractor sank into it.


Once this dries it will be as hard as concrete and will shed water well. I left it about an inch proud anticipating compaction. This will be one of the highest traffic areas on the farm so it needs to be done right.

I like shoveling gravel better than sticky clay, it is a superior core workout. 😉

About M. Agriculteur

Designer, motorcycle junkie, traveler, wanna-be iron butter (more butt than iron), builder, foodie, farmer wanna-be.
This entry was posted in Construction, Farming, Gardening, Homesteading, Preparing the land and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fencing 

  1. I would be wanting those tamales too!

    Good save on the tranny fluid, that could have been a disaster 😦

    This cold weather is sure putting a damper on any outside work here, 25 inches of rain in December and now freezing and ice most days…can’t wait for spring.

Leave a Reply

