Doing and doing

Just a quick update, lots of projects in the air and as usual L keeps us on track.

Gate:  hung and nearly finished. Need to permanently attach the lintel, and hang the glass leaves on the tree.

Irrigation: mostly installed but need to finish the last row and my timer is sapping too much pressure from the top row. 

Mowing: seems like 7 hours in the seat doesn’t go as far as we’d like, and now with extra obstacles the job is more interesting.

Tomatoes planted, and cukes and squash and pumpkins. Not on a grand scale but enough to start testing varieties I think. L’s grow room looked like a jungle in Spring.

Shower floor update: done! The wood tiles gave up and with the temps running 82 – 98 degrees that outdoor shower is a life saver.

News flash. When deer don’t eat trees they bear fruit! We’ll have nectarines, peaches, apples, plums, a few walnuts and one lonely pear.

Our lumber package is in the barn and ready to go once we handle the watering and mowing overhead. There are places where the grass is taller than me.

irrigation tanks


Nectarines

unmolested apples

peaches

new shower floor

captain underpants

cool at last

About M. Agriculteur

Designer, motorcycle junkie, traveler, wanna-be iron butter (more butt than iron), builder, foodie, farmer wanna-be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Doing and doing

  1. DM says:

    I still get a rush seeing fruit forming on a tree I planted myself. Great pictures.(especially like the one of the peach)

    • I’m pretty pleased too. This has been a much warmer and drier spring and getting a harvest from even one tree is not only exciting but makes it look like we have a clue on how to handle climate change or at least wide mood swings in the weather

  2. Glass leaves?
    More obstacles makes mowing interesting – for sure. My neighbour pulls up a chair when he sees I’m about to mow the orchard area – he gets a great kick out of watching me contort myself as I duck and twist to avoid being knocked out of the seat as I get as far as I can under low branches. I call it my mowing yoga. ๐Ÿ™‚
    LOVE that shower.

    • I’ll be adding some hanging glass leaves and fruit to the copper tree in the gate.

      Re mowing I’ve tried to do the edge work but the grass has been growing so fast it hasn’t helped. Lots of reverse mowing and L is asking about a front mounted mower. (Not happening )

  3. You’ve been very busy! Thanks for the update and the cheesecake photo ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

