Babies and BBs

I’ve been wanting to get paw paws in the ground for a while. L got three and made sure it would work in the Cistern Garden.

Custard apples are an edge species native to North America and mostly found in the eastern U.S. both North and South. George Washington ate them for dessert. In the Pacific NW the problem is slugs. The hungry devils girdle saplings whose bark hasn’t toughened up.

Slugs don’t like copper, at least fresh copper without a patina. In the past I’ve hammered used copper pipe flat and made rings to protect young hostas. I had problems with slugs going under the rings on uneven ground.

Solution… BB’s. I think a wide pool of copper coated BB’s might keep slugs at bay. There is shade cloth on our baby trees so the metal shouldn’t super heat and roast the trunks. I also have a big magnet I use on our fire ash to extract the occasional nail that might get repurposed when the mulch gets redressed.

I think it could work. Maybe? I hope.

About M. Agriculteur

Designer, motorcycle junkie, traveler, wanna-be iron butter (more butt than iron), builder, foodie, farmer wanna-be.
This entry was posted in Tree Care and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Babies and BBs

  1. I’ve been shocked at the absence of slugs this wet year. Maybe last summer was too dry and killed some off?

  2. I’d be pleased to hear how the experiment turns out. We had few slugs till late summer/early fall when the rains started, and then they ate our hosta in particular!

  3. Hey guys, hope the sunshine I’m seeing up here is shining down where you are as well. ‘Bout time. Funny place to post this, I realize, but just wanted to let you know that my email notification shows that you created a tantalizing post full of pictures (Hello We’re Back..), but when I click the link or even when I try to get to your blog through the browser, I’m getting “not found”. And I’d really love to see the photos :). Glad to know though that you’re alive and well and have had some adventures and that progress is progressing :).

  4. Nita says:

    Hello? Anybody there? Just wondering about you guys!

    • We are here. Plans are moving ahead. Much to discuss, but you would not believe the plates we are keeping spinning at the moment. Overwhelmed thinking about it much less writing coherently. I’ll leave it (tease) at we are packing moving boxes. There will surely be a massive series of posts after we get internet at the farm.

  5. Nita says:

    Can’t Wait!!!! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

